Counties Added To State Declaration


Idaho Office of Emergency Management
For immediate release March 31, 2017
Contact: Elizabeth Duncan
(208) 258-6595

Additional Counties Added to State Declaration for Flooding, Landslides, Avalanches


BOISE – Ada, Idaho, Lewis and Valley Counties have all been recently added to a state declaration signed by Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter. Eleven Idaho counties are now included in the declaration: Ada, Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Clearwater, Idaho, Kootenai, Latah, Lewis, Shoshone, and Valley Counties. These counties, as well as others around the state, continue to combat flooding caused by snowmelt and ongoing precipitation. Landslides, avalanches, and mudslides also continue to cause extensive damage as soils become more saturated.

A total of 28 Idaho counties currently have local declarations related to either snowfall or flooding-related events.

The Idaho Emergency Operations Center (IDEOC) remains activated at Heightened Awareness due to widespread destruction from spring flooding and landslides. For a daily statewide synopsis of issues relating to current state declarations, please visit the IOEM website.


# # #

The Idaho Office of Emergency Management is a Division of the Idaho Military Division. The services we provide are to facilitate emergency management in Idaho, and to assist neighboring states. The men and women of this Division are dedicated to their mission of protecting the lives and property of the people of Idaho, as well as preserving the environmental and the economic health of Idaho.

High water can cause significant hazards. Residents are reminded to avoid low-water crossings and not attempt to cross water-covered roads.

“Turn Around Don’t’ Drown.”


Original Release