IOEM Receives Prestigious EMAP Accreditation

EMAP Accreditation Program Seal


Idaho Office of Emergency Management
For immediate release November 3, 2017
Contact: Elizabeth Duncan
(208) 258-6595

Idaho Receives Disaster Preparedness Distinction

Accreditation highlights State’s emergency management proficiency


BOISE –Idaho is the first state in the Northwest to receive the prestigious Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) distinction. EMAP is a voluntary standards, assessment and accreditation process for disaster preparedness and response programs throughout the country. It fosters excellence, uniformity and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs. Idaho is the first state to receive the accreditation in FEMA Region 10, which also includes Alaska, Oregon and Washington.

“Congratulations to those programs that have maintained accredited status as well as those who have joined the elite leaders in emergency management having earned accreditation through the Emergency Management Accreditation Program. Through their commitment and leadership, they have proven to their communities and stakeholders that their programs are sustainable and that they continue to focus on their communities’ best interests,” said Robie Robinson, Executive Director of Public Safety, University of Tennessee-Chattanooga and the EMAP Commission Chair.

The accreditation process evaluates emergency management programs on compliance with requirements in 16 areas, including planning, resource management, training and exercise, public information, and administration – the foundation of the nation’s emergency preparedness system.

“I am extremely proud of IOEM and all the work that went into achieving EMAP accreditation,” said Brad Richy with IOEM. “The process involved hundreds of hours of time and energy to thoroughly document all of IOEM’s policies and processes to substantiate the good work we do. IOEM also relies upon support and assistance from our State agency partners when responding to disasters, so this really is a statewide distinction of excellence and accountability.”

Compliance in more than 60 standards must be met to achieve EMAP accreditation. Emergency management agencies must demonstrate proficiency through a rigorous process including documentation, self-assessment, and peer assessment verification. The accreditation demonstrates to all stakeholders that the State’s emergency management programs are sustainable and in line with best practices nationwide.

“The quality work that our Emergency Management folks do was highlighted more than ever this year as Idahoans in almost every county endured record snowfall, flooding, landslides and avalanches. I commend the agency and its leadership for the distinction this accreditation brings,” Idaho Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter said.

EMAP accreditation is valid for five years.

# # #

The Idaho Office of Emergency Management is a Division of the Idaho Military Division. The services we provide are to facilitate emergency management in Idaho, and to assist neighboring states. The men and women of this Division are dedicated to their mission of protecting the lives and property of the people of Idaho, as well as preserving the environmental and the economic health of Idaho.


Original Release